What are commercials saying?

Am I the only one tired of commercials perpetuating this “judge people on their looks” thing?

Maybe I am only noticing now that I have a daughter, even though she is way too young to understand words yet.

Payless Shoes has a commercial where a girl struts across a cafeteria, plops down at a table with the ‘cool girls’, and is apparently ‘accepted’ by the cool girls once they see her shoes. Her leopard print Converse-style sneakers that she kicks up on the table for their judgment.

What does Payless think it’s saying with this commercial? Shoes make you cool? The popular girls will like you if you have the *right* shoes? It’s not who you are…it’s what you wear, apparently.

Then I just saw a commercial for Clean & Clear. I think it’s a T-zone product. I honestly don’t remember the commercial for the product, I remember it for the series of young teenagers all saying how horrible bad skin makes their lives. One girl even says “When my skin is clear, people can see me.”

Shouldn’t we be teaching kids that their external appearances are not the end-all, be-all? I hope I teach my daughter not to judge others based on their appearances. Especially something like skin – color, clarity, puberty’s effects upon it.

But then at the same time, I hope she doesn’t inherit my sensitive, break-out prone skin. I hope she is beautiful. I hope she loves her body, is healthy and fit. I hope she enjoys clothes and takes pride in her appearance.

And I hope she fits in with the cool kids. I spent so many years trying to get etablished in the group of girls at my school. So much energy and emotions wasted. Stifling my creativity and individuality to try and fit in more. Being hesitant to be outspoken.

It’s a vicious cycle, as the cliche goes.

Leave a Reply

